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Late January already and the “second” season is almost upon us. Here are a few situations to help you prepare for a 

truly important time of year.  

 

TIP: A1 goes up for a dunk and the attempt hits the back of the rim and rebounds high enough to strike a support. 

What would you rule?  

 

Ruling: It is out of bounds and Team B will be inbounding at the nearest spot.  

 

1st QUARTER: Scott Engberg, former Battle Creek Brave and now a Glenvil resident, emailed this to the “maple” 

corner last week. Lead official is ready to bounce ball to free-thrower, and just as he is ready to release it, a teammate 

of the shooter is called away from the lane, and like all good players, does what his coach asks, and leaves to head 

over to the coach for further instructions, as the ball takes a nice bounce to the shooter. What are we going to do with 

this?  

 

The answer is I hope we do nothing extraordinary. This happens more frequent than you think, so simply call for the 

ball, start over with no penalty (I know you saw him leaving the lane), re-toss the ball to the shooter, and let play 

resume.  

 

2nd QUARTER: I bet some of you will disagree with this one. A1 blocks a pass near a sideline and the ball rebounds 

into A’s frontcourt. A1’s momentum carries him/her out of bounds. He immediately returns inbounds, secures control of 

the ball, dribbles, shoots, and scores. What do you have?  

 

Ruling: I hope nothing. All A1 has to do is establish himself/herself in bounds, and away we go.  

 

3rd QUARTER: This one has “take your time” written all over it. A1 is fouled by B1 with team A in the bonus. The 

covering official is reporting the foul when A1 is slapped with a technical foul by an observing official. The technical foul 

is A1’s fifth foul. Now what?  

 

Ruling: First, understand A1 cannot shoot his bonus situation free throws. Have the substitute for A1 attempt the 

awarded free throws, then team B will attempt the two free throws for A1’s technical. Lanes cleared for both team’s 

attempts. Award the ball at the division line for a throw-in to team B following the technical foul free throw attempts.  

 

4th QUARTER: And finally, this one might happen, so be prepared!  

 

Team A player has blood on his/her uniform. Team A coach wants to have him stay in the game so beckons for a time 

out. Team B player also has blood on his uniform, and officials also have him leave at the same time. Both players 

change jerseys during the time out and remain in the game. Is this correct or incorrect?  

 

The answer is incorrect. Page 22, article 7, note 1, “if players from both teams are directed to leave the game because 

of injury/blood, both teams must request and be granted a time-out in order to keep each player in the contest.” Teams 

may use a 30 or 60 second time out and if a 30 second time out is requested by one team and a 60 by the other, the 

time out will be 60 seconds in length.  

 

OVERTIME: Just so many good ones, it is hard to quit typing. A1 is awarded two free throws and makes the first one. 

A2 violates on the second attempt and team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in. Can team B run the end line?  

 

Ruling: The throw in shall be from a designated spot and team B may not run or move along the end line during the 

throw in.  

 



A reminder to all of you that if you have any questions to please send me an email at rethwischfive@hotmail.com or 

call me at 402-649-0408. I certainly enjoy hearing of your exploits and want to use your experiences for this column to 

help others. I hope you are having a great year enjoying a wonderful pastime and plan to see you “on the maples.” 


